Posted April 28, 2016

NAW Institute for Distribution Excellence elects new chairman

Directors of the NAW Institute for Distribution Excellence, the long-range research arm of the National Association of Wholesaler-Distributors (NAW), elected a new chairman and three new directors.

Ron CalhounRon Calhoun will serve as chairman of the NAW Institute board. Calhoun is president and CEO of The Palmer-Donavin Mfg., Co., a wholesaler-distributor of residential building materials in the Midwest, and headquartered in Grove City, Ohio. He succeeds Joseph Nettemeyer, president and CEO of Valin Corporation, headquartered in Sunnyvale, California.

“Our management team at Palmer-Donavin has read several of the NAW Institute’s research studies over the years and gotten valuable results. I believe the NAW Institute continues to do groundbreaking research and I look forward to working as its Chairman and contributing to its ongoing research work for our industry,” said Calhoun.

In addition, the following wholesale distribution industry leaders were elected as directors of the NAW Institute Board for four-year terms:

Victor R. Jury Jr., chairman and CEO, Summit Electric Supply, headquartered in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Summit Electric is an independent, privately held, wholesaler-distributor of industrial electrical equipment and supplies with locations in the Southwest United States and the Middle East.

Joseph S. Poehling, chairman and CEO, First Supply LLC, headquartered in La Crosse, Wisconsin. First Supply LLC is a distributor of plumbing, heating, industrial, utility, pump, well, and building supplies serving contractor, industrial, and home center accounts in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Northern Iowa, Northern Illinois, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

Joseph M. Thompson Jr., founder and CEO of Thompson Management Associates LLC, headquartered in Annapolis, Maryland. TMA is an association management firm serving seven industry trade associations, including several representing wholesale distribution companies. Thompson is executive vice president of NAHAD-The Association for Hose & Accessories Distribution.