Posted July 1, 2016

Ruth named president of BSA

The Bearing Specialists Association (BSA) has elected John Ruth, BDI, as president for 2016-2017, effective July 1.

Reporting on BSA's recent Distributor Survey, Ruth told attendees at the 2016 Annual Convention that the results reveal 2015 aggregate bearing sales volume for participating distributors declined 9.3% over the 2014 volume. Additionally, participant estimates indicate that the 2016 expected change in bearings sales will grow 4%.

Delving further into the Distributor Survey, Ruth also told attendees that the results indicate the number of hours spent on training has more than doubled from 2015 to 2016. Results show 75% of participants plan to expand their workforce in the next 12 months.

In addition to Ruth, the following industry leaders were elected to serve BSA in 2016-2017: Tim Breen, Motion Industries Inc., as chairman of tbe Board; Brian Davis, B&D Industrial, as vice president; and Jim Scardina, Bearing Headquarters, as treasurer.

BSA also elected Jason Vasquez, Applied Industrial Technologies; Jim Williams, Motion Industries; and Benito Rodriguez, RIRSA, to serve three-year terms on the board of directors. Thomas Weihsmann, Kaman Industrial Technologies; and Brian Negri, Jamaica Bearings Company Inc., were elected to fill one-year board terms.