Posted October 2, 2023

BSA gives four Excellence Awards

Bearing Specialists Association announced the Annual BSA Excellence Awards for outstanding service by bearing distributors and bearing manufacturers to end-users. 

The Bearing Manufacturer Excellence of Innovation in Product Design Award recognizes companies for innovation and excellence in product design or technology. BSA distributor members reviewed and ranked manufacturer innovation submissions. Among the abundance of innovative product designs submitted, three submissions were chosen to be recognized for their outstanding service to the end-user customers.

The first 2023 Manufacturer Excellence Award was presented to Timken for the Timken IP69K Hygienic Mounted Ball Bearings. Rated for IP69K, they are specifically engineered to perform in Food and Beverage applications where high-pressure wash downs, high humidity and excessive temperature differences exist. To meet the IP69K rating, these bearings did not allow any water or dust to past the seal during the aggressive tests.

The second 2023 Manufacturer Excellence Award was presented to the Schaeffler Group for the OPTME C1 Smart Lubricator, the latest addition to the OPTIME Ecosystem. The C1 Smart Base attaches to the machine and accepts a Schaeffler Concept 1 series, single point lubricator. The Concept 1 lubricator works as it is designed directly on the machine, but the Smart base automates the refill requirements and advises if there is a clog in the tubing or if the temperature around the lubricator has exceeded predetermined thresholds. The Smart base helps easily manage the lubrication efforts at a typical manufacturing facility.

The 2023 BSA CBS Excellence Awards recognized two BSA distributor companies for having the highest percentage of their inside and outside sales forces having attained CBS status as well as the greatest percentage increase in their sales force having attained CBS status. BSA’s Certified Bearing Specialist (CBS) program is the only bearing industry-specific program that identifies and quantifies the specific skill sets to certify an industry professional as a bearing specialist.

The CBS Excellence Award recognizes the esteemed regard of the CBS designation and the industry as a whole.

The first recipient of the 2023 CBS Excellence Award was BDI Canada Inc. Bill Shepard, president, BDI USA, Inc. accepted the award on behalf of BDI Canada.

The second recipient of the 2023 CBS Excellence Award was Bearing Service, Inc. John Masek, senior vice president, Bearing Service, Inc. accepted the award on behalf of Bearing Service, Inc.