Posted May 14, 2019

Evergreen recognizes award winners

The Evergreen Marketing Group recognized five distributor members and five manufacturer partners as 2018 Member or Preferred Supplier of the Year.

The awards were presented at the group’s 30th Partnership Conference held in Dallas in April 30 – May 2.

Earning distinction as 2018 Distributor Members of the Year were Colony Hardware Corp. of Orange, Connecticut (Tier 1); Lincoln Contractors Supply Inc. of Milwaukee, Wisconsin (Tier 2); Pro Tool & Supply Inc. of Waltham, Massachusetts (Tier 3); Barnsco Concrete Construction Materials of Dallas (Tier 4); and Power Tool & Supply Co. of Youngstown, Ohio (Tier 5).

Earning distinction as 2018 Preferred Suppliers of the Year were Milwaukee Tool (Tier 1); JPW Industries (Tier 2); Klein Tools (Tier 3); Apex Tool Group (Tier 4); and SENCO (Tier 5).

The awards were created to recognize the top distributors and manufacturers based on multiple criteria. Distributors and manufacturers were first divided into tiers based on size. Within each tier, the distributors and manufacturers were then ranked based on a number of criteria including contribution to the group, growth, participation and member and supplier input.

Top trainers recognized
Evergreen awarded Bill Ley of JOBOX – Apex Tool Group and Jon Finch of Milwaukee Tool its 15th annual “George A. Sheatz Excellence in Education Award” at its April conference in Dallas.

Ley and Finch earned the recognition as the top manufacturer instructors participating in the group’s 2018 training program on behalf of their companies.

Supplier instructors are rated by students and Evergreen training center staff during each school. Those instructors who achieve the highest ratings earn the award, which was named after George A. Sheatz, a former tool and fastener distributor who was instrumental in Evergreen’s Training & Education programs for nearly 20 years.

“George had a life-long commitment to professional development,” said Kevin Higginbotham, chief executive officer of Evergreen. “His efforts inspired much of what we try to accomplish in the Evergreen program.”

"Over nearly two decades, thousands of tool and fastener distributor sales people were touched by George and his passion for learning. In winning this year’s George Sheatz Award, Ley and Finch along with their companies join an elite group of professional trainers in the tool and fastener industry,” Higginbotham said.

Past winners of the award include Sean Cores (3M Fall Protection), Calvin Mixon (Construction Electrical Products), Wil Granger (DeWalt Industrial Tool Group), Sean Millham (DeWalt Industrial Tool Group), Keith Ripley (Diamond Products), Kevin Kauffunger (Freud Americas), J.C. Tiller (Greenlee Textron), Chris Mackzum (ITW Ramset), Taylor Hoppe (Milwaukee Tool), Raul Soto (Milwaukee Tool), Jack Zenor (Powers Fasteners), Mike Fraser (Stabila), Darrell Hammond (Stabila), Brendan Conway (Sumner) and Patrick Kearl (United Abrasives/SAIT).